Cheery, Cherry Day

“Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” Dr. Seuss

Goldy goes to the bears....

I was tickled to find out this morning that my show “Into The Woodz” is on the Juxtapoz 100 Best Moments of 2009 list.  Really made my day, especially because that show felt like a risky “departure” moment for me and I really wasn’t sure how people were going to respond.  I was following my mad muse off into the woods and absolutely loved what I was creating, but I couldn’t help but picture people wandering around the gallery going “I don’t get it.  Where’s naked Batman?”  The bubbling positive response to the show was incredibly gratifying, validated all my hard work, chased away my worries, and generally made me feel like a million bucks.  And this is just the cherry on my sundae today.

Check it out, I think you can even vote (though I’m not sure what that’s all about, and who are these haters voting “no”?!?  Yeesh….).  Top 100 Moments of 2009.

The other cherry on my sundae this morning (yes, there are several) is that I am frickin’ adorable.  But nobody is this cute —

The third, largest, and juiciest cherry of all is that my friend Rebecca (custom clothier to the coolest of the cool) says that my lifelong idol and muse Julie Newmar has my book and likes my paintings of her!  I’m not sure I can even put into words what that means to me.  We’re talking about Catwoman here people, THE Catwoman!  I can’t decide whether to scream or faint.  Maybe I’ll scraint.  Or feam.

5 responses to “Cheery, Cherry Day

  1. where’s naked batman?

    that is my new catch phrase.

  2. Excellent cherries, all! Now, if only I could get my hands on the Addams Family lunch box – gorgeous work, as always!!! I just love your work, Ms. I. It’s wonderful in so many ways!! xo!

  3. David Humphreys

    Holy crap!

    a) congratulations on your great work and continued success and blah blah blah. whoo!

    b) yeah, you’re adorable. … who didn’t know that?

    c) JULIE NEWMAR!

    JULIE FREAKIN’ NEWMAR!

    did you see her over here?

    http://cartoonretro.blogspot.com/2009/12/julie-newmar-as-april-conquest-part-1.html

    holy crap!

    mrow!

  4. Omigod, I just fell *more* in love with her. Who knew she’d be such a foxy blond?

    And Skinny, I want money every time you say it, just like how Paris Hilton gets cash for “That’s hawt!”

  5. “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” – Bernard Baruch in response to a question by Igor Cassini as to how he handled the seating arrangements at his dinner parties, as quoted in Shake Well Before Using: A New Collection of Impressions and Anecdotes Mostly Humorous (1948) by Bennett Cerf, p. 249; the full response was “I never bother about that. Those who matter don’t mind, and those who mind don’t matter.” …not seuss.

Leave a Reply

