Watching & Reading

Now that things are quieting down a bit I can switch gears.  When I’m armpit deep in Heavy Work Mode I watch a lot of documentaries (I can just listen while I’m painting, glancing up every once in a while to scowl at the screen).  Some standouts were “Wordplay” (about crossword puzzles and NYTimes puzzle editor/master Will Shortz), “The Future of Food” (the disturbing story about what’s on our grocery store shelves these days, ugh), “Flow: For Love of Water” (riveting doc about the impending water crisis, ugh again), and “The End of Suburbia: Oil Depletion and the Collapse of the American Dream” (about peak oil and oh by the way, we’re screwed).

docus

Watching these films (well mostly listening to them) is what pushed me to make sure I got as much edible foodstuff planted this spring as possible. Might be time to dig a well too.

And while I’m working on a few paintings and drawings right now, the big heavy pressure is dialed back a bit and I can READ again!

books

Just finished “Pride & Prejudice & Zombies,” and started “The Monsters of Templeton” but got completely side tracked when I heard author Kelly Link on the radio reading some of her short, humorous horror fiction and had to go grab her books pronto.  “Pretty Monsters” is aimed at “young adults” but I’m here to tell you that stories like “The Wrong Grave” have all the macabre humor a grown up could wish for, and in “Monster” when a kid meets the creature that’s been eating his friends at summer camp and asks “What are you?” the monster, who smells like rotting fish and kerosine, is covered with kiddie camper blood and has a voice “like a dead tree full of bees,” answers.

“Angelina Jolie,” the monster said.  It blinked.

Jame’s heart almost stopped beating. “Really?” he said. “Just like in Danny Anderson’s dream?”

“No,” the monster said. “Just kidding.”

6 responses to “Watching & Reading

  1. OH!…read Breathers by S.G. Browne, incredibly witty http://www.sgbrowne.com/

    I’m reading Chuck Hogan and Guillermo Del Toro’s The Strain. It’s a page turner. Almost near the end and hoping it ends really good because it has been amazing so far. Sometimes hard to read while eating lunch, but I swallow defiantly and keep reading.

  2. book sounds good… “angelina jolie” haha… i’ll have to check it out.

    by the way… amazing work!

    kristin

  3. AH! Just the Cover of P&P&Z cracks me up!!! How was it?

  4. It’s fun (I admit I bought it for the cover) — though I found myself wishing there was a bit more about/with the zombies. Apparently there’s a new edition out: “Now with Ultraviolent Zombie Mayhem!”

  5. You might be interested in watching two Heavy Metal docs.
    -“Metal: A headbangers Journey”, and “Anvil: The Story of Anvil”
    Even if you’re not into the miusic, I’m sure you’ll like to humor, passion and imagery in both of these great films! Very entertaining.

Leave a Reply

