What’s Up

I’m kinda crammed behind the 8-ball but I thought I’d show you what I’m staring at all day and night.

This is what's up on my wall right now.

This is what's up on my wall right now.

Drawings, clippings, a fake gold dookie rope I got on eBay, a RunDMC 12″ of “Mary Mary” (special extended re-edit by Gail “Sky” King), and assorted other bits and pieces.

This is what's on my palette right now.

This is what's on my palette right now.

You can see that I do not keep a neat, “traditional” palette with all the colors lined up according to this-or-that theory.  I just squirt out the colors I like and start mixing stuff around.  This is a redwood forest in a blender.

This is what's on my bookcase right now.

This is what's on my bookcase right now.

The large book is the completely awesome “Audobon Birds of America” — it weights about 150 pounds and every page is a masterpiece.  The little book is the London edition of “The Boy’s Companion” from 1947.  “This volume is intended to provide every boy, whatever his interest in sports, games or hobbies may be, with help and encouragement of the soundest kind.”  It has some great color plates in the sections for “the young naturalist.”

This is what's on the easel right now.

This is what's on the easel right now.

That’s just a detail (and I’m still working on it!) — you gotta come to the show if you want to see the whole thing.  Guess what it’s a picture of?  If you guessed an owl then you’ve been paying attention.

2 responses to “What’s Up

  1. i love getting sneak peaks behind the scenes from you!!!!

  2. “the young naturalist”? should i come to the opening in the nood? if so, i’ll need help and encouragement of the soundest kind.

    😉

    xm

Leave a Reply

