Retinal Delights

 

If you live anywhere near Laguna Beach or have some frequent flier miles to burn, get thee to the Laguna Art Museum for “In the Land of Retinal Delights: The Juxtapoz Factor,” curated by Meg Linton. It’s a vast, amazing collection of goodies — 150 artists! From the museum’s site: “For the last decade the art establishment (collector, curator, and critic) has argued that the idea, or construct, of an art movement is outmoded. This exhibition explores the idea of a ‘Juxtapoz Factor.’ Is it an organized movement operating under a singular manifesto? Or is it a wave of talented overlooked artists who decided to reach out to the public and create their own canon?”
The show is up through October 5th, go check it out and then take a nice long walk on the beach and let the images settle into your brain.  Here’s some snaps from the very crappy little camera that fits into my teensy purse…

 

 

My traveling companion, the lovely Miss Hobbs and me and the super swell Mark Murphy

My lovely traveling companion Miss Pamela Hobbs, myself and the super swell Mark Murphy

 

Some of the groovy art

Some of the groovy art, including the Charles Krafft Hitler teapot

 

Jonathan LeVine, curator Meg Linton, Tim Biskup and some dizzy redhead

Jonathan LeVine, curator Meg Linton, Tim Biskup and some dizzy redhead

 

More groovy art -- that bottom image is all one stunning Eric White painting

Todd Schorr -- a stunning and humongous painting

 

Yakking it up for a TV crew (the lights over my painting behind me were burned out, oh well!)

Yakking it up for a TV crew (the lights over my painting behind me were burned out, oh well!)

 

More groovy art -- that lower image is all one amazing Eric White painting

More groovy art -- that lower image is all one amazing Eric White painting

 

Debbie from L\'Imagerie Gallery and her super cute assistant

Debbie from LImagerie Gallery and her lovely assistant

6 responses to “Retinal Delights

  1. 1. i can’t believe it’s taken me this long to get back on your blogs.
    2. thanks for taking all these photos at the exhibit in laguna. i am a huge fan of krafft’s disasterware collection! and that schorr painting is off the f***ing chain.
    3. you are rad.

  2. 1. I’ll set up a subscription thingie soon, then you’ll know when new stuff drops. (I keep promising to do this. I will, I will, I will.)
    2. Todd’s painting was epic — the size of a football field but you could chop it into ten paintings and each would have been gorgeous. And yeah, Charles Krafft is a mad genius.
    3. Gnarly, too!

  3. So which pieces do you have in the show?

  4. “Samantha & the Darrins”

  5. To clarify — every artist got to have one piece in the show. (Though some were the size of ten!) I wish I had a better picture of the solid bronze turds…

  6. YES. A great show! Just go… the best of it all is here, and my young Samantha got to see the older “Samantha and her Two Darrins” by Isabel Samaras. Some of the frames on the art alone, are art pieces not to mention the incredible masterpieces of the newbrow world.

Leave a Reply

